Exploring the Mysteries of the Mind

Tag: police procedural

Kate Huntington Collection IV Available!!

Hi, Folks!! I’m excited to announce that the final collection of the Kate Huntington Mysteries is available for Preorder.

It will go live next Monday, 6/6/2022.

A $6 savings vs. individual book prices.

It includes the first book in the spin-off series, the C.o.P. on the Scene police procedurals.

Go to the book page HERE for links to the various ebook retailers.

The Kate Huntington Mysteries Collection IV

The final 2 books in the Kate Huntington Mysteries, PLUS Book 1 in the spinoff series—starring Lieutenant Judith Anderson—the C.o.P. on the Scene police procedurals. (Fans of JA Jance’s Sheriff Joanna Brady and JD Robb’s Eve Dallas will love this new female cop on the scene!)

Anxiety Attack ~ An operative working for Kate’s P.I. husband is shot during an undercover assignment involving industrial espionage, and the alleged shooter turns out to be one of her psychotherapy clients—a man suffering from severe social anxiety. Kate believes he’s innocent and tensions build at home…until a suspicious suicide brings the case to a head. Is the spy tying up loose ends, and is Kate’s husband one of those loose ends?

Police Protection ~ A story ripped from real-life headlines! A police detective is found standing over the body of an unarmed African-American boy, with no memory of what happened. Investigating behind the scenes, Kate Huntington and her P.I. husband determine that this was more than just a bad shoot by a stressed-out cop. They’d better figure out what really happened soon… before another life is lost.

Lethal Assumptions ~ Eight days into her new job as Chief of Police in a small Florida city, Judith Anderson finds herself one step behind a serial killer. In a race to save lives, she’ll need every talent and instinct that made her a star homicide detective in Baltimore. But will that be enough this time?


Other Projects:  I’m doing final edits on the next Marcia Banks and Buddy book, To Bark or Not to Bark. And I’ve started the first draft of the next Judith Anderson, C.o.P. on the Scene story.

Stay tuned!!

 

Yay! Lethal Assumptions is Live!!

Definitely doin’ my happy dance today!

Because Book 1 in my new Police Procedural series is now live.

This series is a spinoff from the Kate Huntington Mysteries. Judith Anderson was the police lieutenant in that series.

So to celebrate, I have the collection of Books 1-5 of the Kate books on sale right now, for 99 cents!

Judith Anderson’s no-nonsense attitude and confidence served her well in her climb to homicide lieutenant in the Baltimore County PD, but that confidence is shaken when she finds herself one step behind a serial killer—just eight days into her new job as Chief of Police in a small Florida city.

The first victim, a female college student, may be a case of wrong place, wrong time. But the bodies keep coming, with a mishmash of MOs, and the murders may be linked to various cases in nearby Jacksonville.

While Judith assumed the CoP job would be challenging, she’s finding it harder than she imagined to establish her authority without alienating and be more hands-on without micro-managing. Plus, evidence is staking up that there’s a leak in her department.

Who can she trust? If she makes the wrong assumption, the wrong decision, it may be her last. In a race to save lives, she’ll draw on every talent and instinct that made her a star in Baltimore. But will that be enough this time?

Fans of JA Jance’s Sheriff Joanna Brady and JD Robb’s Eve Dallas will love this new female cop on the scene!

AVAILABLE NOW on:

AMAZON ~ NOOK ~ APPLE ~ KOBO ~ GOOGLE PLAY

Hope you all love this new series as much as I do! More to come, for sure… 🙂

Holiday Rad Reads

Sorry there are only two rad reads this month. I didn’t have as much time for reading this past month, and a lot of the stories I read were just okay. That’s not good enough for me to recommend them to you.

But here are a couple I really enjoyed…

Christmas at the Grange, A Lady Hardcastle Mystery – by T.E. Kinsey – $1.99 (free on KU)

I love this historical mystery series! Imagine Mrs. Pollifax at Downton Abbey!

And this Christmas short story is a great way to see if the series is a good fit for you.

Lady Hardcastle is a respectable gentlewoman, but what most people don’t know is that she is also a retired (mostly) British spy—and her lady’s maid, Florence Armstrong, is also a bit more complicated than she seems. The petite Flo is Lady H’s comrade in arms in her adventures.

In this story, they have put aside sleuthing to enjoy Christmas with their neighbors at the Grange. But the theft of a priceless necklace drags them back into the game.

This is a fun story and a quick read for this time of year! The series can be read out of order, but if you prefer to start at the beginning, Book 1 is A Quiet Life in the Country ($3.99 or free on KU)

The Lady Hardcastle mysteries get five fingerprints from me!

Out With the Sunset, A Parks Pat Mystery ~ by PD Workman – $3.99

A police procedural set in picturesque Canada and a quick read for the busy holiday season!

Yet another PD Workman series, although this one I’m not quite as thrilled about. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed this book or I wouldn’t be recommending it to you. But I don’t think it is quite as good as the other PD Workman books I’ve read and recommended.

Métis detective Margie Patenaude has moved to Calgary with her teenage daughter, and before she can even get said daughter off to school on her first day, Margie has a murder case. Not wanting her new colleagues to think she’s just a “diversity hire,” she struggles to juggle the case with her daughter’s needs and those of her elderly grandfather in a nearby home for the aged.

What is absolutely great about this story – the characters! Especially Margie who is well-drawn with a lot of depth and possibilities for development. And woven into the story are some details about the infamous schools for indigenous children in Canada, as Margie’s grandfather was a student at one of them.

Insights from his experiences turn out to be crucial for Margie to solve her first murder case in her new town. I hope her grandfather plays a role in future books in this series as well.

Because, yes, I will be reading more of this series (Book 2 is already on my Kindle), even though I felt that the plot in this one was not as well developed as it could have been. And I won’t say more so as not to spoil anything.

Despite that issue, I feel that this story is still worth the price. Four fingerprints for Out With the Sunset.

And that’s it for my Rad Reads for 2021. Can you believe this year is almost over?

More to come in 2022!!

 

© 2022 KASSANDRA LAMB

Theme by Anders NorenUp ↑